MUD PIES

Mud Pie

Image by The U.S. National Archives via Flickr

     When I was growing up one of my favorite things to do was to make mud pies! Mom would tell me to go outside and find something to do. Well, I did! The next thing I know I hear my mom yelling my name as the screen door slams behind her. She grabs me by the  hand and takes me to the water hose, and rinses me off. Then we went inside where I had to take a bath, with her scrubbing me with a little brown rubber scrubber! To moms defense, I had come inside for something, and brought the mud with me,  tracking it in the house. There also was mud on everything I touched!  The only way I could get clean without dirtying everything up was to have her do it for me. At the time I was to young to understand why she was so mad. After all, it was just dirt!

This Psalm reminds me of playing in the mud. Because we are born into sin we need someone to clean us up who does not have sin.

I WAITED patiently and expectantly for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry. 2 He drew me up out of a horrible pit [a pit of tumult and of destruction], out of the miry clay (froth and slime), and set my feet upon a rock, steadying my steps and establishing my goings. 3 And He has put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many shall see and fear (revere and worship) and put their trust and confident reliance in the Lord.

Psalms 40:1-3 (AMP)

We need Jesus to save us.

Let’s take a closer look:

“I WAITED patiently and expectantly for the Lord; and He inclined to me and heard my cry.”

In the first verse we see that the person is waiting  expectantly for a response from God about something they have prayed about. 

When a person asks Jesus into their life as their Lord, He saves them.

And it shall be that whoever shall call upon the name of the Lord [ invoking, adoring, and worshiping the Lord—Christ] shall be saved.

Acts 2:21 (AMP)

“He drew me up out of a horrible pit [a pit of tumult and of destruction], out of the miry clay (froth and slime),”

My life before excepting Jesus as my Lord was a real mess. Now, life still has its moments when it is the “pits” and has  “slippery” situations; it is a mess with hope!

We are separated from God because of the sin in our lives.

Since all have sinned and are falling short of the honor and glory which God bestows and receives.

Romans 3:23 (AMP)

Sin=Death

For the wages which sin pays is death, but the [bountiful] free gift of God is eternal life through (in union with) Jesus Christ our Lord.

Romans 6:23 (AMP)

Jesus=Life

But God shows and clearly proves His [own] love for us by the fact that while we were still sinners, Christ (the Messiah, the Anointed One) died for us.

Romans 5:8 (AMP)

Jesus never said that we would have it easy, He did say He would be our source of peace and deliverance when bad situations arise.

 I have told you these things, so that in Me you may have [perfect] peace and confidence. In the world you have tribulation and trials and distress and frustration; but be of good cheer [take courage; be confident, certain, undaunted]! For I have overcome the world. [I have deprived it of power to harm you and have conquered it for you.]

John 16:33 (AMP)

“and set my feet upon a rock, steadying my steps and establishing my goings.”

 For everyone who calls upon the name of the Lord [invoking Him as Lord] will be saved.

Romans 10:13 (AMP)

“And He has put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God.”

Therefore if any person is [in grafted] in Christ (the Messiah) he is a new creation (a new creature altogether); the old [previous moral and spiritual condition] has passed away. Behold, the fresh and new has come!

2 Cor 5:17 (AMP)

“Many shall see and fear (revere and worship) and put their trust and confident reliance in the Lord.”

So we are Christ’s ambassadors, God making His appeal as it were through us. We [as Christ’s personal representatives] beg you for His sake to lay hold of the divine favor [now offered you] and be reconciled to God.

2 Cor 5:19-20 (AMP)

It was God [personally present] in Christ, reconciling and restoring the world to favor with Himself, not counting up and holding against [men] their trespasses [but cancelling them], and committing to us the message of reconciliation (of the restoration to favor).

2 Cor 5:19

When we except Jesus (are born again), we can go and tell others about Him, and help them get out of the mud! ( Matthew 28: 19-20)

Leave a Reply

